Base Case Route

Permitting procedure

The consultation period for the Nord Stream 2 project was initiated in 2013 when a Project Information Document (PID) was submitted to both national and international authorities (through the coordinating authority under the Espoo Convention), NGOs and other stakeholders. During the public hearing period, statements from various authorities, citizens and non-governmental organizations were requested and public meetings were held. Based on the opinions and statements received, the coordinating authority issued its statement on the EIA programme. This first phase of the EIA procedure was completed in June 2013.

Based on the feedback received during this initial consultation process, Nord Stream 2 carried out environmental investigations and assessments in order to establish national EIAs and the Espoo documentation. Through autumn 2015 and summer 2016 various meetings were held with stakeholders pertaining to specific questions.

The application for the construction of the pipeline system in Denmark was filed together with the EIA and the Espoo Report on 3 April 2017. The potential impact of the construction of Nord Stream 2 on the countries around the Baltic Sea was presented in an Espoo Report. A public consultation process ran for two month. During this period, Danish authorities, citizens and other interest parties had the opportunity to state their opinions on the EIA documentation.  

At the end of the public consultation, Nord Stream 2 received all the statements handed in by national and international stakeholders and provided answers to these. The application is now ready for a decision by the Danish Energy Agency once the Danish Ministry of Foreign Affairs has given his recommendation, which is pending since January 2018.