Espoo Process for the Approved South-Eastern Route in Denmark

The Danish Energy Agency (DEA) in March 2019 requested Nord Stream 2 to investigate an alternative route in the exclusive economic zone in the waters south of Bornholm between Poland and Denmark. This area was previously disputed between Poland and Denmark and therefore not available for any project developer to lay pipes or cables. This area has now become available based on an agreement reached between the two countries. 

Nord Stream 2 therefore submitted a construction application and an Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) for an alternative route south-east of Bornholm to the competent Danish Authorities on 15 April 2019. The application and EIA are available for download here.

Within the framework of the Espoo Convention, Denmark, as Party of Origin, provided the relevant documentation to all Affected Parties as the basis for national participation of authorities and the public held between 15 May and 17 July 2019. Interested stakeholders in all Affected Parties were invited to submit feedback on the relevant documentation for the south-eastern route.

As a result, Denmark as Party of Origin received comments from the Affected Parties and considered them in the final decision on whether to grant permits for the project.

The Danish Energy Agency granted Nord Stream 2 a construction permit for the South-Eastern Route on 30 October, 2019. The approved route stretches 147 kilometers in the Danish Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ).

A summary of the permit application, the non-technical summary of the EIA, the transboundary impact chapter and a draft permit are available for download in the nine languages of the Baltic Sea countries and English on the website of the Danish Energy Agency.

We use cookies to continually optimise our website. By continuing to use this website, you agree to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Privacy Policy. OK